Inspiration Thursday: Miranda July

I have decided to keep myself from losing steam on this project I am going to start posting info on artists that inspire me as well as my own art. I am also going to add “Sketchbook Saturday”,  “Medium Monday”, and “Terrible Tuesday”. The rest of the week will be me just posting whatever suits me.

Today is Thursday so I am posting about an artist that inspires me: Miranda July.

Miranda July is a filmmaker, artist, and writer. Her videos, performances, and web-based projects have been presented at sites such as the Museum of Modern Art, the Guggenheim Museum and in two Whitney Biennials. July wrote, directed and starred in her first feature-length film, Me and You and Everyone We Know (2005), which won a special jury prize at the Sundance Film Festival and the Camera d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival. (mirandajuly.com)

She was named one of the top 25 indie filmmakers in 2004. Her body of work is quirky and often focuses on empowering women. She also has worked with bringing the arts to youth through projects such as the Joanie 4 Jackie project. She is constantly engaging her viewers in active participation. Without an audience to move through or help create the work it is unfinished, unlike a painting or sculpture.

One of my favorite pieces by her is “The Hallway”.  It draws strong similarities to Bruce Nauman’s Hallways from the 60’s in terms of creating an experience for the viewer, but at the same time is completely different. July uses strong narrative and quirky humor to create here experience rather than minimalist themes. Here is a video:

The Hallway on Vimeo.

Commissioned by the Yokohama Triennial, 2008. In the collection of The Hara Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo, Japan.

Leave a comment